Calc Function

  • Diagnosis
  • Rule Out
  • Prognosis
  • Formula
  • Treatment
  • Algorithm
  • Disease
    Chief Complaint
    Organ System

    Scientific Advisory Board

    MDCalc's Scientific Advisory Board represents elite leaders in academic evidence-based medicine and clinical decision support. These pioneers of medicine have changed practice with their research and clinical work, improving care and outcomes for countless patients worldwide. Board members provide strategic guidance that helps to shape MDCalc's goals and vision, on an invitation-only, voluntary basis.

    Dr. Barbra Backus

    Barbra Backus, MD, PhD, worked as a junior cardiologist under Dr. Six prior to her work on the HEART Studies. After completing her PhD, she began a residency in Emergency Medicine at the Albert Schweitzer Hospital in Dordrecht in the Netherlands. Her main research focus is on risk stratification of ACS.

    Institutional Profile

    Calculators created: HEART Score

    Dr. Robert A. Balk

    Robert A. Balk, MD, is a professor and practicing physician in pulmonology, internal medicine and critical care at Rush University Medical Center. His research interests include septic shock, acute lung injury, acute respiratory distress syndrome and ventilator-associated pneumonia.

    Institutional Profile

    Calculators created: SIRS & Sepsis Criteria

    Dr. Robert M. Centor

    Robert M. Centor, MD, is the retired regional dean for the Huntsville Regional Medical and professor of medicine in the Division of General Internal Medicine at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. He researches medical decision-making and has published widely in the diagnosis and management of adult sore throats. Dr. Centor is also Chair Emeritus of the Board of Regents for the American College of Physicians.

    Institutional Profile

    Calculators created: Centor Score (Modified/McIsaac)

    Dr. Jerome Hoffman

    Jerome Hoffman, MD, is the associate program director of emergency medicine and acute care at UCLA. He is also professor emeritus of medicine and emergency medicine. Dr. Hoffman has directed the UCLA Doctoring Program for more than 20 years, and his research focuses on Health Services Research and Clinical Decision Making, as well as in areas related to Medical Education.

    Institutional Profile

    Calculators created: NEXUS C-Spine Rule

    Dr. Nathan Kuppermann

    Nathan Kuppermann, MD, MPH, is a professor and chair of the department of emergency medicine at UC Davis Health and School of Medicine in Sacramento, CA. He chaired the first research network in pediatric emergency medicine (the Pediatric Emergency Medicine Collaborative Research Committee of the AAP) and was the founding chair of the Pediatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network (PECARN). Dr. Kuppermann is a leading national investigator for studies focusing on infectious emergencies in children including the laboratory evaluation of young febrile children, the evaluation of children at risk of diabetic ketoacidosis-related cerebral injury, and the laboratory and radiographic evaluation of the pediatric trauma patient. He has been the lead or senior investigator on several research studies developing and validating clinical prediction rules.

    Institutional Profile

    Calculators created: Palchak (UC Davis) Rule

    Dr. Gregory Lip

    Gregory Lip, MD, is the David A. Price-Evans Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine at the University of Liverpool and an honorary consultant cardiologist at Liverpool Heart and Chest Hospital. He is also a researcher in the Aalborg Thrombosis Research Unit at Aalborg University in Denmark. Dr. Lip is one of the world’s leading experts in risk stratification of atrial fibrillation, with his research directly informing the widely-used CHA₂DS₂-Vasc and HAS-BLED Scores.

    Institutional Profile

    Calculators created: CHA₂DS₂-VASc Score

    Mark Pochapin, MD, FACG

    Mark B. Pochapin, MD, FACG, is director of the division of gastroenterology and hepatology at NYU Langone Medical Center and the Sholtz/Leeds Professor of Gastroenterology. He is also the vice chair for clinical affairs in the department of medicine. Dr. Pochapin is the former chief of endoscopy at New York-Presbyterian Hospital and founded the Jay Monahan Center for Gastrointestinal Health, and is the current president of the American College of Gastroenterology

    Institutional Profile

    Dr. Ian Stiell

    Ian Stiell, MD, MSc, FRCPC, is Professor and Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine, University of Ottawa; Distinguished Professor and University Health Research Chair, University of Ottawa; Senior Scientist, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute; and Emergency Physician, The Ottawa Hospital. He is internationally recognized for his research in emergency medicine with a focus on the development of clinical decision rules and the conduct of clinical trials involving acutely ill and injured patients treated by prehospital services and in emergency departments. He is best known for the development of the Ottawa Ankle Rule, the Canadian C-Spine Rule, and Canadian CT Head Rule and as the Principal Investigator for the landmark OPALS Studies for prehospital care. Dr. Stiell is the Principal Investigator for 1 of 3 Canadian sites in the Resuscitation Outcomes Consortium (ROC) which is funded by CIHR, NIH, HSFC, AHA, and National Defence Canada. Dr. Stiell is a Member of the Institute of Medicine of the U.S. National Academies of Science.

    Institutional Profile

    Calculators created: Canadian C-Spine Rule Canadian CT Head Rule | Ottawa Ankle Rule | Ottawa COPD Risk Scale | OHFRS | Ottawa Knee Rule | Ottawa SAH Rule | San Francisco Syncope Rule

    Dr. Graham Teasdale

    Sir Graham Teasdale, MBBS, is an honorary professor at the Institute of Health and Wellbeing, University of Glasgow. He was previously the professor of neurosurgery, head of the department of neurosurgery, and associate dean for medical research at the University of Glasgow. Sir Teasdale was also the president of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow (2003-2006), and was knighted in 2006 for his services to neurosurgery.

    Institutional Profile

    Calculators created: GCS-Pupils Score Glasgow Coma Scale (GCS) | Pediatric GCS

    Judith Tintinalli, MD

    Judith Tintinalli, MD, MS, FACEP, is editor-in-chief of the eponymous Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine series, the most widely-used and well-known emergency medicine textbook. She is Chairman Emeritus and a professor in the department of emergency medicine at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine, and also holds multiple associate and adjunct professorships. Dr. Tintinalli is one of the founders of the Emergency Medicine Residents' Association (EMRA) and has been named a Hero of Emergency Medicine by the American College of Emergency Physicians.

    Institutional Profile